Can’t beleive it’s been so long!

Well I finally got back to writing today, after a good two months of chaos. Between moving house, being sick, seeing Pink and visiting relatives nothing has been happening. But today, finally, I have made *some* progress. That is I have read and re-written vast amounts of novel.

I have managed to read a few pages here and there, and fixed up a few words over the last couple of months, but always seemed to procrastinate. I just can’t seem to bring myself to write those last few pages that will forever tie my character to the decision she has made, desperately confident that in time I will find a way for her to change her mind at the last moment and finally be able to live in peace. I think I have overcome that problem. Another book.

A friend of mine told me that she just didn’t want to read it if it has a sad ending, so just for her, I will write another. (Just for her… right. As though I have absolutely no desire whatsoever to find Amara happy and peaceful.)

Oh but the problem is that even as the new idea come forth, forming the plot as I would like to see it, I know, deep down, that Amara will change it all and ruin it for herself as she has done with this book. Should I really feel sorry for her, I have given her ample opportunity to be happy, yet she just goes about her business as though she is in complete control of her own destiny…. I wonder if she will emerge from my computer screen one day, Inkheart style, to wander around and create the kind of chaos that has chained her to such a pitiful fate in my story…. or should I say *her* story.

But, back on topic. Even though I have struggled with procrastination and even went as far as cleaning my bathroom to give Amara just another hour or so of time to consider her options, today I managed to re-write whole paragraphs and even cut out pages of superfluous words (I swear some of my writing must have been wine influenced at some stages).

So I am hoping that I am back on track. Really. For good this time.

~ by Alissa Anderton on September 1, 2009.

One Response to “Can’t beleive it’s been so long!”

  1. Very good to hear! Keep it up 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
