WHY IS IT SO HARD TO WRITE THOSE LAST FEW PAGES??

I have struggled to finish the last few pages of Amara’s story… and I thought it was because it’s just no good… BUT – I think I have finally come to put my finger on the problem…..

You see, I read something in Inkheart (Cornelia Funke) which I believe to be indubitably true, that no matter where or when the book ends, the story will continue, the characters lives will continue to unfold.

I know, whether I write the book or not, Amara has more conflict coming. Oh, she thinks she has made the right decision, she thinks she has finally found her happy ending, and who knows, perhaps some people who read her story will agree with her.

But I know the truth.

Bad things are going to happen to Amara and this time they will not be brought about by her own selfish dissidence with life in general, they will be real and inevitable. I know what is in store for her future, because even as I sit here putting the final touches to my first draft, her future is unfolding in my mind, and it’s not pretty…

~ by Alissa Anderton on September 27, 2009.

One Response to “WHY IS IT SO HARD TO WRITE THOSE LAST FEW PAGES??”

  1. Ahh, our poor characters.

    *evil laugh*

Leave a Reply

 
