A Road Not Taken

No words of wisdom today. No convoluted rambling, or egocentric evaluations of my own opinions. Just a poem; one which I read so long ago I can not remember where, but I wrote it down and have read it too many times to count. As young as I was when I read it, I loved it – loved it too much to let the meaning slip from my mind – and tried my best to live by it…..

I have no idea who wrote it…. a child does not think to record the author….only the words… so if anyone does know… please enlighten me!

A Road Not Taken

Two roads diverged in the yellow wood,

and sorry I could not travel both,

and be one traveller as long as I stood,

and looked down one as far as I could,

until it bent in the undergrowth.

Then took the other just as fair,

and having, perhaps, the better claim,

because it was grassy and wanted wear;

though as for that, the passing there,

had worn them really about the same.

And both that morning equally lay,

in leaves, no step had trodden black.

Oh, I kept the first for another day,

yet knowing how way leads on to way,

I doubted that I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh,

somewhere ages and ages hence,

Two roads diverged in a wood and I,

Took the road less travelled by.

And that has made all the difference.

~ by Alissa Anderton on November 24, 2009.

5 Responses to “A Road Not Taken”

  1. Robert Frost 🙂 and I love it too.

    • Ah thanks Jo!!

      • My favourite poem of his is ‘Stopping by woods on a snowy evening’. The ending always makes me shiver:

        “The woods are lovely, dark and deep.
        But I have promises to keep,
        And miles to go before I sleep,
        And miles to go before I sleep.”

      • Yes, I like that one too…. but for me, none compares to a Road Not Taken…. I guess the fact that I fell in love with it so long ago, when I was a child, and at a time when the other poetry I loved was lacking in any substantial guidance…. I just imagined myself when I was a child walking through the woods that he talks about and seeing the yellowing leaves as they float to the ground, and hearing the crunch of the leaves under my feet as I take the path that few others have ever trod! It is my peaceful place……So that image springs to mind whenever I make a decision these days…..

  2. Robert Frost Cuz… I did use my power’s of google but.. a road not taken could also be a story unread or maybe even a song unheard, some road’s can appear scary to begin with and I guess there’s only one way to find out, so yes I can relate to your thought’s here, can you think of a song you wish you had never heard? I can, anything from Bon Jovi or Nickleback.
    I remember a poem you wrote that I like about a leaf falling from a tree in the breeze, but I cant recall the name.
    ….Never made it as a wise man… yeah! now it’s a sing along.

Leave a Reply

 
