I know what I should be doing.. and I’m not.

I know exactly what I *should* be doing. I *should* be collecting all the problems with my first draft, and fixing them. But I’m not.

Instead I am researching explosives, cryogenics, immune systems and Italian Christmas Cakes… (not all for the same purpose!)

I just can’t seem to stop writing. That may be good for someone who is a brilliant writer, but I am far from that, and actually *need* those moments of not writing to fix up the things I’ve already written.

Even as I finished the first draft of my second novel, and acknowledge that not only does it need more work, but the second draft of my first novel still needs a hard edit, the ideas for the next novel start forming… and for the fourth… in fact I do believe I have at least 5 stories in my head right now wanting to come out… and I DON’T HAVE TIME FOR YOU ALL!

I do not usually make New Years Resolutions, but perhaps, mine should be that I will not write anymore until I have given my “almost there drafts” the attention they need…

or maybe I’ll start it after I’ve finished the story that’s begging to come out now….

btw… the Italian Christmas Cake research has nothing to do with a novel… but being ‘that time of year’ I don’t think I need to explain….

~ by Alissa Anderton on December 23, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
