Behind the image – misconceptions based only on what we see.

Someone said something to me the other day that made me think (well in my job I really need some mind distractions and so pretty much anything anyone says to me makes me think!) and my daydreaming has, as usual, somehow turned into an essay in my head (and pray, where were all these suddenly available mind essays in highschool when I really needed them, drowning somewhere in a dream of black fingernails or cream filled chocolate eclairs most likely.)

But back to where I think I was headed. It seems that those who do not know me too well have some sort of misconception about me. Yes, I wear heels – yes, I do my hair nice – yes, I look after myself and try to look respectable – yes, I tend to have fun in most situations (I am the most unlikely to be serious in any situation) – but apparently that also means I am not very smart, or more to the point – I can not string a sentence together that makes any sense. Three people in the last two weeks (count them three!) were AMAZED at the fact that I blog, and have drafted few (unpublished as yet) novels in my time. (I believe the exact words for one conversation were, “Oh my GOD, you seriously wrote eighty-five thousand words” (nodding on my part), “all on the same topic?” (more nodding), that’s amazing!” (true amazement bordering on disbelief on her part) I didn’t bother telling her I had done it three times over.)

But anyway – this time, because my mind-essay turned out to be merely a barrage of impassioned comebacks toward my colleague I decided instead to get lyrical… that is, I embraced my adolescent love of poetry and turned my indignation into a lesson to those who judge people based on first impressions.

BEHIND THE IMAGE

The car that I drive, the clothes that I wear,

my heels and my makeup, my voice and my hair,

the way that I carry myself through the streets,

the shops that I frequent, the people I greet,

they all gel together to form an ID

a false preconception, an image of me,

and based on this image you think you know me,

but you only see what I want you to see.

Here at my desk, with my hands on the keys

of the machine that will listen as much as I please,

I can talk, I can type, to my heart’s content,

not needing to censor or even make sense.

I don’t need to be who you think that I am,

I don’t have to be shiny, or perfect or glam.

I don’t have to match my bag to my shoes,

or need to decide between black jeans or blue,

or worry on whether they might clash with gold,

I’ve nothing to prove, no image to uphold.

I can wear my old clothes, an unfashionable hat,

and it doesn’t matter, you can’t judge me on that.

You judge me on content and not what you see,

and I don’t have to care if you don’t like me,

you only see what I type, what I feel,

no falseness, no pretense, the image is real.

And so it would seem the truest version of me,

is the one who exists through my online ID.

~ by Alissa Anderton on May 17, 2010.

5 Responses to “Behind the image – misconceptions based only on what we see.”

  1. I really love the poem Lis, it speaks such volumes to me 🙂

  2. Great blog Lis and *flick away* to those people who made those comments to you!
    I so wish that I could meet you in person!! ONE DAY!!! You are a great person and a very talented and smart lady – whomever thinks otherwise needs to go and get a life!

    • Connie – we will catch up one day – I promise. You’re one of my greatest supporters… SIGH, oh how demanding keeping a fan base of a whole THREE people and a dog and six barbie dolls happy!! Hahahaa!!! (PJs barbies are the only ones I’ve met that will listen as i work through sentence structures… you have to be a little bit empty in the head to listen to the same sentence rephrased 10 million times I think!!!!)

  3. I need to to thank you for this very good read!! I absolutely enjoyed every
    bit of it. I have got you book-marked to check out new things you post…

  4. Great goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re
    just extremely excellent. I really like what you have acquired here,
    certainly like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it smart. I can’t
    wait to read far more from you. This is really a terrific site.

Leave a Reply

 
