My little reindeer eraser…

You know how sometimes in life you just realise how important something is to you? How much something is so ingrained in your life that you really couldn’t possibly live without it? Well I had one such epiphany yesterday whilst I was attempting to draw some texture into what was supposed to be woven fabric… and here is a little song about it…

His little red nose, and his cutesy black eyes,

stare out at me from the drawer,

he fixes mistakes and he rubs out the mess,

that I make when I start to draw.

I love his brown antlers, and tiny pink ears,

‘cos they get right into the parts

of the drawing where standard erasers try

but their big butts just don’t have a chance.

Oh, my little reindeer eraser,

please don’t ever go away,

my little reindeer eraser,

believe me when I say,

stay.

I just can’t draw without him,

but the more that I use his dear face,

the smaller he gets, and I realise

one day he must be replaced.

So I wonder if I should stop using him

to give him a tad longer life

for how sad would I feel to be drawing without

my little friend every night.

Oh my little reindeer eraser

please don’t ever go away,

my little reindeer eraser,

believe me when I say,

stay.

For a moment he lived in retirement,

and I used my Staedler instead,

’til one day I drew a weaving,

and needed my reindeer head.

His pointy bits rubbed at the paper,

and he fixed the detail in the weft,

but rubbing just made him get smaller,

and now there just ain’t nothing left.

Oh my little reindeer eraser

now you’ve gone away,

my little reindeer eraser,

never needed you anyway…

~ by Alissa Anderton on August 23, 2010.

5 Responses to “My little reindeer eraser…”

  1. Very funny. I like your fun style. I had a favorite rubber too and my best friend stole it from me. I will never forget – ever. LOL

    • What a terrible terrible friend…LOL – Luckily I have not lost my little reindeer, he’s still hanging around, but he is awfully little and dirty.. poor thing…

  2. ha ha – very funny

  3. You’re such a crazy girl, Lis. Love it. I have an elephant sharpener. I have had it since I was 5 years old. 🙂
    My beloved elephant sharpener. Never written a poem for him, though! 😉

Leave a Reply

 
