Dedication – Quotes and Monsters.

I can’t believe it’s been nineteen days since I’ve posted. It’s not like I haven’t tried. I’ve been here, I’ve logged on, I’ve even opened up new post pages so I could start typing, but something always gets in the way.

Right now, there is some kind of giant monster skittering around behind the crystal cabinet… But, instead of checking it out, and bravely decapitating whatever horrid creature may be lurking there, I will continue to sit here and type… See how dedicated I can be when faced with the choice of sitting comfortably at my computer drinking milo, or searching out and facing a nightmare which I have no doubt would end with some of that Psycho music and a “dum dum dum” as my life slowly drips from the fang marks implanted on my neck.

Yes, I am dedicated.

Hang on… I think I see chocolate…. Oh, dedication… right… where was I… chocolaaaaaaate….

So whilst my mind turns over the possibility of chocolate, my fingers will share with you some more of those lovingly kept quotes and aphorisms that I collected as a teen. Enjoy…. chocolate….

Today I think our theme should be dedication.. perhaps!!

– You can only go as far as you are willing to push.

– Beware of what you become, in pursuit of what you want.

– A good man is one who stays beside you, through all of the problems you wouldn’t have had if you’d stayed single.

– Imagine what you could do if you knew you couldn’t fail.

– Be like a postage stamp, stick to one thing until you get there.

– As you pass through life, let this be your goal: Keep your eye on the donut, and not on the hole.

– Those who say it can’t be done, shouldn’t stand in the way of those that are doing it.

~ by Alissa Anderton on January 20, 2011.

2 Responses to “Dedication – Quotes and Monsters.”

  1. Lis, i think you missed some of your more important quotes actually. They’ve stuck with me since high school. “Never play leapfrog with a unicorn” springs to mind……

    Oh, and I have another one from Richard Bach which lends itself to your way of thinking about things.

    “Argue for your limitations, and sure enough, they’re yours.”

    And a few more for your perusal.

    “If you will practice being fictional for a while, you will understand that fictional characters are sometimes more real than people with bodies and heartbeats.”

    “It is not reality, although you can express reality there if you wish. You are also free to write nonsense, or lies, or to tear the pages.”

    “Every person, all the events of your life, are there because you have drawn them there. What you choose to do with them is up to you.”

    “In order to live free and happily, you must sacrifice boredom. It is not always an easy sacrifice.”

    “The best way to avoid responsibility is to say, “I’ve got responsibilities.”

    “The truth you speak has no past and no future. It is, and that’s all it needs to be.”

    “Here is a test to find whether your mission on earth is finished: If you’re alive, it isn’t.”

    “Don’t be dismayed at good-byes. A farewell is necessary before you can meet again.
    And meeting again, after moments or lifetimes, is certain for those who are friends.”

    “The mark of your ignorance is the depth of your belief in injustice and tragedy. What the caterpillar calls the end of the world, the master calls a butterfly.”

    “You’re going to die a horrible death, remember. It’s all good training, and you’ll enjoy it more if you keep the facts in mind.
    Take your dying with some seriousness, however. Laughing on the way to your execution it not generally understood by less advanced lifeforms, and they’ll call you crazy.”

    I can relate most of them to you!!!

Leave a Reply

 
