My name is Lis, I am a Hatterholic and this is my party.

It’s been an entire week since the Mad Hatters Teaparty.

I think I can talk about it now.

Hello, my name is Lis, and I am a Hatterholic.

It all started so innocently enough… with the teapot. One lonely white little teapot, sitting on a shelf, calling out to be Maddened, and knowing, as I did, that my five year old was turning six, my obsessive nature and mothers instinct fused with the sudden almighty presence of the teapot, coming together to create a chemical reaction that resulted in a Mad Hatterish attempt to make, buy and steal every idea and item that could possibly be considered for a Mad Hatter’s teaparty.

I am a Hatterholic, and this is my party…

Mad Hatter Party Cake, with teaparty on top.

The Cake (supposed to resemble a top hat)... rainbow marbled butter cake... with much artificial colouring...

 

3 year old funny face

HINT: When preparing a cake with any level of awesomeness it is imperative that you first clear your kitchen and surrounding area of these...

 

Teapot at the teaparty

The awe inspiring teapot, taking its rightful centre-place amongst all that is delicious... note: the red roses, clock cookies, teacups and blue butterfly (which is supposed to represent Absolom). Oh! and the teeny cookies in the teacups... (representing the whole disjointed take on size that Alice in Wonderland portrayed.)

Yummy little tea party treats declaring to the world "Eat Me!"

Mad Hatter and the Queen of Hearts

The Mad Hattery birthday girl... and me! The Queen of Hearts!

The flutterwacken competition...

"on that day I will flutterwacken.... vigorously." - Our Flutterwacken Competition.

Bed jumping

Some of the guests discovering the "no bed jumping" rule is not necessarily enforced by Mad Hatters...

So there you have it… or perhaps I have it, or should that be had it… or perhaps no one really ever “has it”. Perhaps those who do have it are much more… “muchier” than those who don’t. Perhaps it is not really a question of muchness, but more a question of ravens and writing desks.

“Twas brillig, and the slithy toves Did gyre and gimble in the wabe; All mimsy were the borogoves, And the mome raths outgrabe. The Jabberwock, with eyes of flame, The jaws that bite, the claws that catch Beware the Jabberwock, my son! The frumious Bandersnatch! He took his vorpal sword in hand: The vorpal blade went snicker-snack He left it dead, and with its head He went galumphing back.”

 

~ by Alissa Anderton on February 20, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
